Low Dose Cortef/Hydrocortisone for Adrenals – Jeffries Protocol

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia and ME & Chronic Fatigue Syndrome' started by Waynesrhythm, Mar 23, 2007.

1. Waynesrhythm

Waynesrhythm Member

Hi all – This is my first time posting to this board. Have been enjoying perusing this board for a few weeks now and feel grateful to everybody who takes the time to so generously share their experiences.

I’m starting this thread because I’ve noticed there has been no reference to the book “Safe Uses of Cortisol” by William Jeffries. I considered this book (and still do) the most authoritative literature on low-dose hydrocortisone I’ve been able to find. Dr. Jeffries devoted his entire career to researching and developing a low-dose hydrocortisone protocol for people with CFS, FM, arthritis, post-viral syndrome, mononucleosis, HPA axis dysfunction, hypoglycemia, and many other conditions including infertility. He found even marginal adrenal insufficiency can have big effects. Some highlights I’ll mention for now:

1. The average body makes approx. 40 mg cortisol/day. If you have adrenal insufficiency, the adrenal glands are constantly trying to increase cortisol levels, and being unable to do so, virtually never fully rest. By supplementing with enough cortisol (Cortef) to bring levels back up to normal, the whole body starts to function better and the adrenal glands get a chance to start resting and hopefully start rejuvenating.

2. The average dose necessary to bring cortisol levels to normal are 20-30 mg per day. As long as you keep the amount below 40 mg/day, your adrenal glands will not shut down, which is a problem with higher dose supplementation. He goes into detail the history of cortisone, and how the initial promise of it became obscured when early high dose supplementation created many of the problems that doctors are currently concerned with. Unfortunately, most doctors know nothing about the safety of lower doses.