LTD again

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Malcolm82, Aug 28, 2008.

1. Malcolm82

Malcolm82 New Member

I was just wondering if anyone out there that has CFIDS has gotten benefits from LTD for over the 2 year period that they seem to want to cut you off at.

2. jasminetee

jasminetee Member

but my LTD only Dx me for Depression. I was able to get them to change it to FMS, but for some reason, they won't acknowledge the CFS but that's just as well in my case.

The LTD will not drop you after 2 years unless they have you Dx with a mental problem. I've been receiving benefits now since 2000.

[This Message was Edited on 08/29/2008]
  3. TXFMmom

TXFMmom New Member

Go for disability with the problems you can prove which are under the umbrella of FM or CFS, such as hypothyroidism, a sleep disorder proven by a sleep lab, pain verified by someone as regional myofascial pain disorder (triggers), other things which are low and haven't responded, and they cannot dispute because you have some fancy test which verifies it.

On the muscle pain, and myofascial thing, a PET scan can prove it. It pains a lovely picture of the metabolism in muscles, etc., and cannot be faked, so if you can talk your doctor into doing one, they can pinpoint areas where the metabolism indicates pain, myofascial disorders, joint disorders, and other things. FANCY TESTS LIKE THAT WITH FANCY DIAGNOSIS DRIVES THE DISABILITY COMPANIES BANANAS BECAUSE THEY CANNOT QUESTION THE FINDINGS.
  4. Sunspot

Sunspot New Member

I don't know if it's the same for you, but for me up until two years I had to prove I couldn't work at my job, and after that I had to prove I couldn't work at any job. That was just a longer form, and it was certainly true so they didn't bother me.