LTD vs SSI ???

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Sekoya, Jun 30, 2003.

1. Sekoya

Sekoya New Member

I can't take this anymore.

I'm hanging onto my job by a thread. I recently received a poor performance review. Every year there are more and more layoffs. I know I'm next.

Meanwhile I keep *trying* to do my job and I just can't. I work in IT and the pain and brain challenges are too much.

SSI is not an option for me. I'm the main means of support for my household. I have "LTD" insurance deducted from my paychecks every month, but I'm not sure what that means.

I was on STD from Nov2002 to Feb2003, and then forced myself to come back to work. I was out due to complications after surgery (big surprise for us FMS'ers ... NOT).

I can't fake it anymore. I'm tired. I hurt. I can't think straight. I can't do this work. It's too hard.

I don't know anything about company paid LTD except that you get paid 75% of your salary (which would be GREAT), but I don't know for how long, and I don't know how to go about getting it. I know that claiming "FMS" would probably be difficult.

Should I see a psychologist and try to go for the "stress leave" thing?

How long will the LTD last? How do I find out?

Anyone out there know anything about this stuff?

Sekoya
  2. elaine_p

elaine_p New Member

Sekoya, you should have gotten something at some time which explains your LTD benefits. That will tell you how much you get (I only get 66%, 75% is great!), if there's a limitation on your benefits, etc. If you can't find it, ask your HR department.

If your policy is anything like mine, I looked it over and most of it didn't make sense. The information is there, it's just that 'til it applies to you, it kinda goes in one ear and out the other (bad metaphor, but you get the point).