Lupus meds for pain

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by dzk76r, Nov 13, 2005.

1. dzk76r

dzk76r New Member

Hi All: I am new to the chat and am not seeing a whole lot about Lupus even though it says lupus chat.

Here is my dilema I hope somebody out there might be able to give me some guidance. My mom was officially diagnosed with SLE in 1988. The last 10 years she has had a wonderful Dr. that has kept her functioning in daily life in Oroville, CA. (Dr. Howard), suddenly this new pharmicist in town (Diana at Crystal pharmacy) decides that my mom is taking too much Darvocet for her pain and complains to the Dr.. 6 months ago after the pharmicist complained the Dr. decides that the pharmicist is right and removes all pain meds from my mom. My mom has spent more time in the hospital at this point than out. At least before she had a life and didn't just exist but was living. At this point her blood pressure has skyrocketed and she has had two strokes and is constantly ill. I know darvocet has dangerous side affects but what about the side affects of living in constant pain day in and day out. I know that darvocet does not reduce blood pressure but common sense would tell you that, hhmmm, lets see, if we take away her pain meds and she is now in pain, suffering daily and stressed that this would cause your blood pressure to go up. Right? Help. Does anyone know of a dr. in the Sacramento area that is not afraid to perscribe darvocet or some kind of pain relief so that a person with Systemic Lupus can actually live again instead of just existing in bed. please....

[This Message was Edited on 11/13/2005]
  2. JLH

JLH New Member

I hate it that you found us only because you mother is ill, but you have found a good place!

I have systemic lupus as well as fibromyalgia, arthritis, and a ton of other stuff!

Well, I guess the pharmacist was just doing what she thought was her job by complaining to your mom's doc about taking too much Darvocet.