Lyrica is too expensive

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by FMsolider, Nov 2, 2005.

1. FMsolider

FMsolider New Member

I was just recently diagnosed with Fibro so, I am rather new at trying to live with it. Not going so well so far....the Dr. gave me Lyrica ( 50 mg. ) I am taking it but, it cost me $180 for a month's worth. I have a 7 month old baby and $300 a month presciption bill. Has anyone found something that works that is cheaper? My doctor won't give me anything else for pain besides tylenol 3 - which worked at first and then stopped.
  2. dunnlb

dunnlb New Member

Neurontin is a lot like Lyrica but is available generically. It should be affordable.

The best medicine I have found for FM is Cymbalta, but it is very expensive without insurance. It is available online from Pharmacy Geoff as a generic drug. I have ordered from them many times without any problem. The meds are sealed from the factory and are the real stuff. Look under "generics" to find Cymbalta and "neurological health" for Neurontin. But, you would probably find Neurontin cheaper at your local pharmacy.
  3. FMsolider

FMsolider New Member

Thanks for the advice. I do have insurance and the darn stuff is still so expensive....what is weird to me is that the Dr. didn't give me any refills. I have never ordered drugs online before maybe I should try.
  4. Jen128

Jen128 New Member

with Costco? For some reason, their precription drugs tend to be cheaper versus a pharmacy. Just a thought...
  5. Braingonebad

Braingonebad New Member

A lot of people with ins. can't get them to pay for Lyrica yet... they are saying they want to check into it and make sure it's approved for that person's dx - as if they are the FDA! Grrr!

Yeah, it's costly, but it's been a life saver for me...

Have you tried amitriptyline ( generic Elavil)? That's a tri. AD. Helps me for shocks and burning, deep bone type pain.
  6. FMsolider

FMsolider New Member