Making money through the written word or Ebay

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Genome, Jun 13, 2006.

1. Genome

Genome New Member

Hi everyone,

This is my first time visiting this website. I'm 33 and until recently had worked more-or-less full-time since being diagnosed with fibromyalgia 5 years ago. (Obviously, mine is a relatively low grade case, though it's certainly no fun.)

Having quit a too-stressful job that was causing my health to decline, I'm looking for part-time work while exploring the feasibility of supplementing that with freelance proofreading, editing or writing to allow more flexibility. I've been scouring the internet and asking everyone I can think of for leads and advice, and finally it occurred to me to come to a site like this where people would know what it's like to have fibromyalgia.

I have a few questions for Shenanegans, though I noticed she hasn't posted recently and may no longer visit this site. If you're out there, I'm wondering: have you had any luck with, or have any advice about, freelance editing? Also, can you actually make ends meet selling stuff on Ebay?

Does anyone else have experience trying to pay the bills by selling on Ebay?

For Zerped or anyone else, do you have advice about getting started as a freelance writer? My original plan was to focus on proofreading and/or copyediting. I thought it might be easier or somehow more straigtforward to get those jobs than to earn money writing, and I do have some experience in those areas. However, my investigation so far suggests that, given the effort I'm likely to have to put into making proofreading/editing a viable career, I might as well at least take a stab at writing, which is my real interest. I have an MFA and a handful of publications but they're mostly poems, and I certainly don't expect to make money off poems! I do have one published book review/interview, but otherwise have no "street cred" as a nonfiction writer.