Medical Treatment Not Sought...(very good article)...

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by kjfms, Feb 26, 2006.

1. kjfms

kjfms Member

...by Many Chronic Pain Patients

By Will Boggs, MD

NEW YORK (Reuters Health) Feb 24 - More than 20% of patients with chronic pain do not seek physician care for their pain, according to a report in the February Mayo Clinic Proceedings.

"We need to get over what for many people appeared to be the 'don't ask, don't tell' mentality about chronic pain," Dr. Barbara P. Yawn from Olmsted Medical Center, Rochester, Minnesota told Reuters Health. "We can't cure everything, but as a physician I would like to try to help with a problem that makes it difficult for my patients to sleep, work, or play."

Dr. Yawn and colleagues sought to determine the proportion and characteristics of patients with chronic pain who do not seek medical care for that pain and to assess whether such patients have unmet pain care needs.

Among 3575 individuals who responded to a mailed questionnaire, 2302 reported having chronic pain 2221 answered relevant questions. The investigators found that 497 of these patients (22.4%) said that they had not informed their physicians about their pain.

Of these silent pain sufferers, 70.6% had moderate or severe pain, 48.9% had pain for eight days or more per month, the authors report, and 40.6% met both of these criteria.

About one quarter of them reported at least moderate interference with general activity and sleep, the results indicate. Vocal pain sufferers were more likely to report interference with general activity and sleep.

The survey showed that 78.9% of the silent sufferers used over-the-counter pain medications (compared with 56.3% of vocal sufferers), but only 5% used prescribed pain medications (compared with 35.2% of vocal sufferers).

Silent sufferers made fewer health care visits per year than their vocal counterparts (5.2 vs 8.6), the report indicates.