Message for getfitat40

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by marw, Feb 12, 2006.

1. marw

marw New Member

Hi there,

I was just reading where everyone is from and came across your name. I live in Chicago about 12 blocks from Wrigley field over in the Vicinity of Southport. We are neighbors!
    Are you interested in starting a support Group? There used to be one in Chicago, but it has been disbanded. We could run a poll and see who else is here or if they are interested.

Just an idea.

Margaret

P.S. Sorry, I accidentally posted this twice. Then I tried to delete one copy but it is still on the Board, but just doesn't open when you try. I'm still learning thse Boards.
    [This Message was Edited on 02/12/2006]
  2. marw

marw New Member

Hi Nancy,

I live on Cornelia a few blocks west of Southport between Southport and Ashland. So we are close indeed.

Actually I was thinking of a live group once-a-month kind of thing, but online is good, too. The one I found out about which is not meeting anymore used to meet at Swedish Covenant Hospital. If there were enough people in our neighborhood, then it is easy to find a church or the "Y" where we could meet. For the whole area, probably downtown at a restaurant or Library? A restaurant might be good or coffee shop if there are only a few, and we don't have speakers or anything. I think the old group used to have speakers and so on. Or...my doctor would get us a meeting room at St. Joseph's Hospital. For a Northside group we would probaly need to put flyers on Bullentin Boards in the neighborhood. I can do that part, but might want to wait until the weather is better. THese are just some ideas. nothing written in stone. And of course we always have to consider our energy.

Anyway, a local online group would be great,too, as we could exchange info on the local scene and services as well as supporting each other.