Mid To Upper Back Rib And Under Arm pain?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by joeb7th, Apr 3, 2010.

1. joeb7th

joeb7th New Member

I have been telling doctors for over 3 years that I have this constant soreness all around my rib cage and in my arm pits.

They just shrug and say take anti-inflammatories and pain pills for this. Never has one doctor offered a confident diagnosis nor suggested finding out what this is. They even get mad now when I bring it up.

But, starting two month ago my back rib cage near the middle of my upper back right under my shoulder blades has increased in soreness to the point that I moan off and on and when I breath in the pain doubles. It feels like I was punched over and over back there very hard no longer ago than a few hours or maybe a day ealier.

When I bend down or even while I lay on my back in bed and especially when I roll over in bed...the pain is excrutiating and I just moan throughout the night.

Just saw a doctors on duty doc and he said to take more Advil type pills and pain pills and maybe see a neuorologist. A neurologist?

I could live with the chest wall/rib pain most of the time in the last three years. I would feel it and on bad inflammatory feeling days it would be bad and when I touched many specific points in that area the pain would make me wince and sigh...but without touching it I could live with it.

But this new and much more powerful pain emanates from that back rib area and radiates out to the side ribs and the under arms and makes the pain there bad whether I touch it or not ... and it is driving me nuts.

Any one else have this and ever found out what it is? Treatment?

I have already read up on Costochondritis...it sounds like it in many ways but when no doctor ever confirms this and 99% of them act like they've never even heard of this condition...what do you do?