mildly bi-polor-is it possible

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by sharon28, Aug 13, 2003.

1. sharon28

sharon28 New Member

sometimes i think i am mildly bi-polar, if there is such a thing, but if i was wouldn't the doctor have told me?....iam on tompax 100mg. a day for mood disorders, that what she says, because my moods are discusting even to me. i jump around from one mood to another. i can't even stand them. iam on l000mg of tryptophan, 200mg. of effoxer. and the topamax. my family says all the time, are you sure you are not bi-polar besides having fibro-myalagia. i am not sure if severe mood swings come from fibro-or what the hell is going on, could it be pms, my periods are so irregular now. my whole life has turned up side down, trying to figure this all out. someone tell me please if they have heard of such a thing ..................sharon
  2. klutzo

klutzo New Member

I am a Psychiatric Social Worker. The neurohromonal abnormalities of Fibro can produce symptoms which may look like mild Bipolar disorder. IMO, treating those neurohormonal deficiencies is the key, not covering the symptoms with drugs.
    Did you have an MMPI test with a positive mania scale that was evaluated by a mental health professional? Do you meet the criteria for a dx of bipolar disorder, hypomania or cyclothymia, or did someone just guess because they didn't know anything about Fibro and wanted some sort of label to put on you?
    Mild Bipolar disorder would be hypomania alternating with dysthymia, and it may be called rapid cycling if your mood changes daily. An even milder form is called cyclothymia.
    You are already doing something right by taking Tryprophan, but where in the world are you getting it? It is supposed to be off the market! Most docs are prescribing 5-HTP instead. You probably also need Tyrosine, and maybe some other supps. as well.