Milk Thistle & Dandelion - which one first?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia and ME & Chronic Fatigue Syndrome' started by TwinMa, Dec 6, 2005.

1. TwinMa

TwinMa New Member

I'm new to the world of herbs.

I want to start to do something to clean up my liver. From what I have read, it seems like Milk Thistle would be a good choice. I also bought some Dandelion to help flush things out of my blood. I also picked up Pau D'Arco for immune support and Grape Seed Extract as an antiviral, but I plan to wait to start those until my liver is a bit more detoxed.

Which one should I start first? Would taking Milk Thistle and Dandelion together be a good or bad idea? How many days should I wait before adding in a new herb? What should I expect when I start either the Milk Thistle and/or the Dandelion?

I am also taking:

Probiotic
    Aloe vera juice and Lemon
    Stormy’s shake
    Garlic
    Ultimate Greens
    And a number of other supplements as well as several prescription meds.

Thanks for your help.

Katy

SuperKirby likes this.
  2. Jeanne-in-Canada

Jeanne-in-Canada New Member

so I'd start w/ that one. Maybe give it a week before started milk thistle. They do work well together are found in synergistic formulas, so it's safe, but milk thistle can be a very aggressive detoxer so start small.

keep in mind, you have alot of detoxing herbs, so you could end up w/ overwhelming detox/herb symptoms. I know I would. For me, just pau d'arco, garlic, milk thistle, or GSE alone gives me strong detoxing.

Jeanne
    SuperKirby likes this.
  3. TwinMa

TwinMa New Member

You have both given me good information.

Jeanne - I did have an immune response from the garlic I am taking. I increased from one pill to two and had a mild response. I just went up from two to three pills and again had a mild herx. Sore throat, achy, fluish. That makes me think it is doing something! I'm leveled off now. So I will definitely be careful when adding in these new herbs.