Monolauren, anyone tried it?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by greatgran, Apr 5, 2006.

1. greatgran

greatgran Member

If so would like to know if it helped and did you have any problems with it.

My doc has prescribed it for me as an anti-viral supplement. Have done a search but couldn't find out much about it..

Thanks,
    greatgran
  2. cherylsue

cherylsue Member

Yes, I've tried monolaurin in the form of Lauricidin pellets. What at herx! I still have the jar. I don't like to herx, so I tried ProBoost 3 packages a day for 6 months and now I'm down to 1 a day (it's been a year.) I also take Sambucol Elderberry extract daily.

Anyway, I'm between 90-95% remission after two 14month bouts of viral induced CFS. I work full time in a school which has all kinds of nasty germs floating around.

This worked best for me.

CherylSue
    [This Message was Edited on 04/05/2006]
  3. mbofov

mbofov Active Member

Monolauren comes from coconut milk. Also, do a search using the spelling "monolaurin" and you will get more results.

I took virgin coconut oil a few years ago for candida and it worked very well, but I did have a severe herx from it and probably should have gone slower.

There's a good book called The Coconut Oil Miracle by Bruce Fife. It talks about the antiviral properties of coconut oil and how it kills candida. Some people are claiming it helps kill the AIDS virus, but I don't know if that's true.

You may herx on the monolauren as CherylSue did, so you should probably start with a small dose. But herxing will mean that it's working.

Here is a blurb I cut and pasted from Dr. Mercola's website about coconut oil and lauric acid and monolauren:

"You've probably heard that breast milk is jam-packed with nutrients and disease-fighting ingredients that help keep babies healthy.

Well, incredibly, coconut oil contains the same compound -- lauric acid -- as mother's milk! And lauric acid is the predominant type of MCFA found in coconut oil.