Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by victoria, Apr 27, 2010.

1. victoria

victoria New Member

OK I got an 8 but surprised me - practice helps tho, because I've had the same questions a few times over the years, so really I should've done better LOL ... but also my adrenalin's running, some stress this AM really perks up the brain for sure!

Go here, and tell us all how you do...

good luck - just remember these are trickier than they may seem...
  2. Misfit101

Misfit101 New Member

I got an 8 as well. Good thing I knew they were trick questions lol. One I missed said "takes some thinking" or something to that effect and its bugging me. Thankfully I cant remember what the question was. Id be like a dog with a bone--unable to let it go lol. That was fun! Ill go back...
  3. mysticbrit

mysticbrit New Member

OK - I got 8 also. I studied the answers and now know why I got 2 of them wrong but I'm still confused about the one where you divide 30, etc.

But then, once I got thru basic math I flubbed all the algerbra, trig, etc. I still don't understand why they'd suddenly throw the alphabet into the equations. I still contend that I have NEVER needed to apply algebra into my life and at 63 I'm going to guess that it won't happen any time soon.

YUCK - Hubby just walked in the room and I read that question to him. Drat - he got it right without working up a sweat. He started to explain the process to me but once he noticed my eyes had glazzed over he stopped. Smart man.

4. JimB51

JimB51 Member

This will really be impressive on my job resume
  5. JimB51

JimB51 Member

dividing by 1/2 is the same as multiplying by 2/1. (2)

dividing by 1/3 is the same as multiplying by 3/1 (3)

dividing by 1/4 is the same as multiplying by 4/1 (4)

Got it?
    SO ...

DIVIDING 30 by 1/2 ... is same as MULTIPLYING 30 by 2

Try it.
    (That's about all I remember from math class)
    [This Message was Edited on 04/27/2010]
  6. Misfit101

Misfit101 New Member