Music to My Ears!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by dhcpolwnk, Sep 24, 2002.

1. dhcpolwnk

dhcpolwnk New Member

This is off-topic, but I'm very excited about this and wanted to share this with someone.

I don't know whether I've mentioned it previously, but I'm an amateur musician/composer (mostly composer; I don't perform publicly, and I can no longer sing, due to throat damage from acid reflux). I have posted MP3 versions of a number of my original songs and longer works to MP3.com.au, the Australian MP3 web site (though I'm not Australian). Every week, MP3.com.au does music charts, based on the number of times a track is downloaded or streamed (listened to online). Sort of the equivalent of radio and record charts.

I was thrilled last December to discover that "As Heaven Weeps," the tone poem I wrote to commemorate the Sept. 11, 2001, attacks on the U.S., was #1 in the Contemporary Classical genre. It stayed at #1 for about 4 weeks and has remained in the top 10 or 20 in that genre for most of the year. But about four weeks ago, it jumped back up to #1, and it started climbing in the overall rankings, too. As of today, I was bowled over to see that "As Heaven Weeps" not only remains #1 in Contemporary Classical but also has reached #181 overall-- out of 23,940 tracks!

People seem to be listening to my other songs as well. (I like a variety of musical styles, and my MP3 tracks include a wide variety of genres.) Both of my "albums" now rank in the top 100 (out of 3,030 albums at the site). And MP3.com.au now ranks me #29 out of 5,610 artists with music at the site.