My battle with Antivirals and antibiotics

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by ETN, Feb 3, 2007.

1. ETN

ETN New Member

I am going to try and make a quick summary!
    I have been battling with chlamydia pneumonaie for over 2 years. I was on a very aggressive antibiotic treatment for 1 full year and then went off of it for a year after my dad died because I just couldn't do it. It was as aggressive as treatment for TB
    I was on amoxil 500mg twice a day, zithromax 250mg M,W,F, Rifampin 300mg twice a day and then would do pulses of Flagyl.
    It was horrible...not fun at all.
    So here I am now where I was just tested for EBV,CMV and HHV and all of that. I was positive with high titers for EBV and CMV.
    So I am not on Valtrex 1000mg twice a day and Ursodiol 300mg 2tabs three times a day.
    I am on about week 10 for those 2 meds.
    I also am taking Zithromax 250mg M,W,F for the Cpn
    I was also taking INH, Isoniazid 300mg once a day. Then I am to add Rifampin and then pulse with flagyl.

I have such a hard time taking the INH that I can't even take that. It literally bed riddens me and fatigues me so bad that I literally can't get out of bed. I even tried 1/4 tab once daily and still had a hard time.
    Obviously my body can't tolerate all of that right now.

My dr wants me "functioning" to where I can at least get out of bed and all of that. So I have since stopped taking the INH and am just going to continue with the antivirals.

Of course it's a "quicker" fix to treat the virals and faster. The clamydia pneumonaie is very hard to treat.
    It's a precursor to cancer, heart disease and a host of other things.

Both my dr and pa are on the same protocol as I am.
    The protocol I was put on is the Vanderbilt Protocol.
    Here is a list of my meds then I will sign off.
    Effexor XR75mg 2 po q am and 1 po q pm
    Ms Contin 100mg 1po bid
    Norco 10/325mg prn for breakthrough pain
    Soma 350 mg 1 po qid