My battle with RA/Fibro:How I'm Winning

Discussion in 'General Health & Wellness' started by terminator, Jan 23, 2009.

1. terminator

terminator New Member

Hey guys. I am a former tv news producer battling ra/fibro. Details of my diagnosis, struggles and successes are located on www.chinika.com, a talk show-inspired, online news magazine I created to inform and inspire, especially people in my shoes. The story is called "86,400 Seconds". From shock, fear and sadness, to feelings of guilt and peace you will learn how I am now overcoming both chronic illnesses--physically and emotionally. And it is my hope that my experiences will prove beneficial to those among you who visits the site. And if you have any stories of survival, feel free to contact inspire@chinika.com.
  2. Nanie46

Nanie46 Moderator

Hi,

I am an RN who has had Fibro for 21 years. I did go to your website and read some of your story.

Please keep an open mind and listen to what happened to me....I had a flu like illness in late summer of 1987, followed by a constant ache in right hip, followed by an acute episode of throbbing joint pain in every joint in my body....followed by the chronic phase of muscle pain, stiffness, soreness, insomnia, and many other symptoms that have been known as fibromyalgia for the last 21 years.

I frequent the FM board here. Over time I saw that people with FM or CFS were being diagnosed with lyme disease. Initially I had a lyme screen(titer) and a western blot through Lab Corp...all negative.

In Oct 2008 I started researching lyme. I read the latest information from the best lyme experts in the country. I read how the lyme screen is worthless and western blots done at most labs are only about 30% accurate.

I persisited until I found a Dr who would order a western blot through Igenex lab in Palo Alto, CA (MUST be done at Igenex...they have 70% accuracy....best there is).

Even when the "official interpretation" of the Igenex western blot said negative, I knew better.