My doctor is sending me to a Pain Clinic ! Does anyone have any experience

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by sharon5650, Dec 30, 2009.

1. sharon5650

sharon5650 New Member

I have been in so much pain, my doctor is sending me to a Pain Clinic, does anyone have any experience with this method ..??

I am also experiencing some stuttering too, this is so hard on me.

I also have severe osteoarthritis, so between the both I am in a darn mess and so depressed.
  2. fight4acure

fight4acure Member

Nice to see you again!

I have no experience with pain clinics, but I heard they are costly, but they do a decent job in controlling pain.

Doctors send patients to the pain clinics because of liability if the regular doctor gives pain meds and something bad happens.

So, it is just proceedure for them to send you to a pain clinic.

Will your insurance cover it? Do you have insurance?

I hope your pain gets under some control soon!

Fight :)
  3. ilovepink4

ilovepink4 Member

I went to a pain clinic-once! it was 80 miles one way, and they wanted me to commit to driving there 3-4 days per week for 3 months.....they danced around my question if they prescribed pain meds....when I got there, they said that no, they don't prescribe pain meds...that everyone that works here has pain and they just work through the pain with no meds....the doc was a D!@K.....please excuzio.....

this was the strangest pain clinic....anyways, hubby and i went to get lunch before the afternoon session of my intake appointment.....and never went back!!! he called and told them to let someone on their "waiting list" have my spot....and we journeyed home...just the stupid morning appointment flattened me for days....