My FM getting better with antiviral med and special diet

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Nanie46, Apr 9, 2007.

1. Nanie46

Nanie46 Moderator

I have had fibromyalgia for 20 years. I always knew that it developed after I had a very bad respiratory infection. I never wanted to take medications to cover up symptoms. I always was looking for the cure. I am a nurse and I had faith that if I ever found a Dr who believed the viral theory and would test and treat it that way, that I would get better. In Feb I found that Dr. I started consultations with him, had bloodwork for viral testing and for delayed food allergies(common things you can easily become sensitive to which also contribute to pain, stiffness, IBS, headaches, etc). My viral testing results showed 5 viruses in high levels. My delayed food allergy testing showed that I had become sensitive to 22 of the 88 foods tested for. I never would have guessed that foods also contributed to the intensity of the pain and stiffness. I have been on the antiviral med for one month. After 12 days on the med, I no longer had that overwhelming feeling of fatigue and lethargy. I had to eliminate all 22 foods out of my diet for 6 weeks. This has been very hard since sugar, milk, wheat, and corn were just a few of those foods. Next week I will start putting these foods back in my diet one at a time to see how each one makes me feel. I can tell you that I feel much less stiff,achey and sore and I'm not exhausted. I will continue the antiviral med for a total of 3-6 months and then as needed if symptoms appear. The Dr has had alot of success treating patients with FM and CFS this way. He had fibromyalgia himself 20 years ago and was able to cure himself with this treatment.
    [This Message was Edited on 04/09/2007]
  2. joeb7th

joeb7th New Member

Is this possible?
  3. Nanie46

Nanie46 Moderator