My grandmother has Alzheimer's

Discussion in 'General Health & Wellness' started by linnykay55, Apr 19, 2003.

1. linnykay55

linnykay55 New Member

I'm new to the message board. My grandmother has Alzheimer's and has been in a nursing home for about 3 years. She will be 92 in about a month, if she makes it until then. She refuses to eat or drink and is losing weight and literally wasting away. This has been going on for months, especially since she broke her hip about 6 months ago and is no longer mobile. My mom has tried everything; the staff has tried everything; and I can't really help that much because I live far away. The only solution is to place a feeding tube in my grandmother's stomach and force feed her. Almost everything I read says this is not a good idea and that it rarely adds to the quality of life. My mom has refused this so far, but she's wavering and wondering if she's doing the right thing. The doctors and professional people suggest that families think about what the person talked about and said they wanted before they got demented. Well, my grandmother never talked of such things and didn't understand medical procedurs and the like. She always thought she could do as she pleased (she always was funny about eating), and that God would take care of her. She really doesn't like to be bothered now and has a fit and gets very upset if they bathe her, change her diaper, etc. A feeding tube requires a lot of care, and she would have to go to a skilled nursing home instead of the one she lives in now. Alzheimer's is such a dreadful disease. Well...I'm just rambling, but if anyone else out there is going through or has gone through something similar, please give me any insights you may have. I would be thankful for any information or discussion. I need some support.

Thank you.

Very distressed and losing hope
  2. jbaggett

jbaggett New Member