My Husband is considering going to Afganistan

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by kirbycat, Aug 14, 2006.

1. kirbycat

kirbycat New Member

I'm feeling alittle blue tonight, my husband is an electrician and makes decent money. I am a Registered Nurse in my well life and I made real good money. Now that I can no longer work, things are real tight. I lost making about $100,000 in the past year.

He came home tonight and is talking about going to Afganistan for 1 year. He will make about $150,000 tax free money over there. But I am so afraid for him. It is so dangerous and unpredictable. The money would be great but at what cost? He will be in danger, I will be alone.

What would you all do in my situation. I feel so guilty for not being able to work. I thought that they would carry me out of the emergency room feet first before I'd ever quit work. I've been a nurse for 30 years. I worked with this crap until I literally fell out at work. I could work no more.
    thanks for your input,
    Cathy
  2. kriket

kriket New Member

Hmmmm. Good question. All the gold in the world is not worth jeapordizing your life, but sometimes you just do what you have to do.

Have you two discussd this in depth yet about the way you both feel?If not, you need to, and then decide whether it is really worth it. Do you really need the money that bad?

Kriket
  3. kirbycat

kirbycat New Member

He just told me about it tonight. I really have not processed it and all the ramifacations yet. We have not discussed at lenght either. He just said he was seriously considering it.

Thanks for your comment.
    Cathy
  4. kriket

kriket New Member

I will be thinking and praying for you and your husband as you two talk and think out this difficult decision.

Kriket
  5. 69mach1

69mach1 New Member

if not do it, please....one thing you have going for you is your age right now...that is working for you when doing battle w/ssa...