My sincerest sympathies flare out of nowhere

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Thistledown, Oct 2, 2006.

1. Thistledown

Thistledown New Member

I know that a great many of you struggle to live each day with as little pain as possible. Some of you just wish for a normal day. I have been able to live somewhat normal for a couple of years; I still have restless legs (born with them!) and I have a stiff painful neck most of the time.

I was well enough that for the last eighteen months I have been a martial arts student, running, rowing, working full-time night shift and sleeping fours a day around taking care of two young children.

Well, the husband got ill, I was under even more stress than usual, things got hairy, and I got punched in the face at sparring practice the night before my promotion test (martial arts). I ignored it, but a flare snuck up on me and tonight my skin hurts, my bones hurts, my muscles hurt, I feel like I have a bad flu and it's my first night back at work after two weeks of vacation nightmare (way too much to discuss).

The muscle spasms, the fatigue, the brain fog, the plantar fascitis, the arthritis, the tender points, all of it are here to visit.

I wanted to express my sincerest sympathies to those of you who struggle each day just to get out of bed and make it to the bathroom or to the kitchen. My sympathies to those of you who wish you could just get up and play with your children or grandchildren. My sympathies to those who wish they could do all they see other doing, or accomplish things you used to love to do. I didn't quite forget what it felt like, but this reminder has helped me put some things into perspective.

Gentle hugs and healing thoughts for all of you!!!

Thistle
  2. 1sweetie

1sweetie New Member

Thank you Thistle. It means so much when someone understands. Have you noticed that only those affected can have empathy?