my story..any advice????

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by cristine04, Mar 28, 2003.

1. cristine04

cristine04 New Member

Hello everyone. Well I've been reading some of the posts on this useful site for awhile and I finally decided to join in. I am a 22 year old class of 2002 college graduate. In my past life one year ago or so, I was student body president at my University and a supremely happy vibrant person who always was dubbed "the energizer." During my senior year I had suffered through a major "flu/viral" episode which landed me in the hospital for one week. I recovered quickly and was 110% within one month. Well, in May I graduated from college and moved across the country with my family. That July I got a bad flu with swollen glands and a high fever. Since that time I've never been the same. I used to exercise for hours at a time and never tire. Well... in August I quit my dream job. Then I figured I'd start taking some classes in the meantime to fill the void. November came around and I had a flu shot--this was a major setback. Doctors initially thought "guillane barre" -Thank goodness it wasn't that. Had to stop the classes in January, just too tired. In any case, I've been haunted by fatigue and muscle weakness/soreness for months. Joint pain in my elbows, knees and wrists appears. I thought I was turning the corner from all of this this Feb. 2003, but on March 1 I suffered a flare up/setback. I went from walking 30 minutes per day and feeling 75-80% to walking 2 minutes and feeling 10%. DOctors have now put me on Doxycycline even though I show no signs of bacteria in blood. They are doing this as backup in case I test positive for lyme. They also say no chronic fatigue because I don't have swollen glands or sore throats. Fibro. is ruled out b/c I don't have pain the 14 points. Confusion! They say it could be a psot viral episode which happens to some people and could last for a year. The Doxy ismaking me feel bad and then good...in c