My story - Do I have CFS?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by kougar, Nov 15, 2002.

1. kougar

kougar New Member

Hi all, I am new to this message board. I would greatly appreciate the insight of other CFS patients or others with a similar experience to mine.

About 6 months ago, I was struck with a "mysterious illness". It first felt like a flu, but somehow felt a little different. I felt very tired for about a week but it felt like a different type of "tired" than I had ever felt before. This is when I first went to see my family doctor. His first reaction was that I probably had Mono. After about another week, I was not feeling any better, and the Mono test came back negative. To make a long story short, I have now been through a few doctors, and they have run every conceivable test. Not one of them has found anything. The last doctor (an Internal Medicine doctor) has basically told me that I was affected by some sort of virus and that it might take a few months for it to go away.

Well here I am 6 months + and I am still experiencing many of the symptoms I had been at the start of all this.

My symptoms include:

- Mild fatigue on a daily basis
    - Malaise (particularly after exercise)
    - New chronic headaches that tend to come and go every few weeks.
    - Heavy brain fog that usually lasts for a day or two and occurs every few weeks.
    -Irritable bowel ... basically when all my other symptoms appear, this occurs as well.

I do not have any joint or muscle pain as I understand many CFS patients do.

One other thing about my symptoms is that they seem to be less severe now than they were even a few months ago which I suppose is a good sign. They are also very up and down.

So there will be a period of a few weeks where I feel pretty good with all symptoms being very minimal (although I still don't feel 100% "normal") and then a week or so when the symptoms are worse. My illness seems to be very cyclical this way.