Nanie46 & others Question about Herxing

Discussion in 'Lyme Disease Archives' started by Robbie44, May 16, 2009.

1. Robbie44

Robbie44 New Member

Hi Nanie and others,
    I'm fairly new to the Lyme Board as I was usually on the FM site. But I have recently been to an ILAD doctor and she is certain I have Bartonella. She also said she has never seen Bartonella without Lyme. Anyway, as I am waiting for the test results from the Western Blot, I am starting abx to treat the Bart. Going back on old posts I saw that your symptoms are similar to mine with FM. My question is what happened when you herxed? Were you incapacitated? Do you work? Were you still able to work. My LLMD says most people with Lyme can't work--it's just too taxing. I'm not working---just kind of putsing at some self employed work but I don't want to have to give that up too.

I am very freaked out about this herxing thing---how do people do it? I don't want to feel worse because as you all know we feel bad enough as it is.

I have been to lymenet.org and gotten some great info, but at times it seems a bit overwhelming so I thought I would ask you here.

I start with miniciprin (sp?) on Monday. I have already been doing a diet that eliminated dairy, gluten, soy, caffiene, sugar, etc. I never drink pop or alcohol, also supplements, detoxifying stuff like massages and epsom salt baths, etc. for months now. I've lost 20 pounds which I guess is great but what a way to do it. Anyway, I'm thinking since I'm ahead of the game I might not detox as bad. I know there's no way to know but I certainly would like to hear of other people's experience with herxing. Thank you all so much for being here.

Robbie
  2. Nanie46

Nanie46 Moderator

Hi,

Congratulations on figuring out what is causing your fibromyalgia syndrome!

You are smart to have gone to an ILADS trained MD.

Was your western blot done through Igenex?

Herxing is different for everyone.

I was also afraid it would be horrible, but for me it wasn't.