naprapaths and accupuncture

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by finin, Feb 27, 2007.

1. finin

finin New Member

hey everyone!!! hope everyone is doing ok...I have a question...I am pretty fortunate to work for a pain management doctor ( I am a x-ray tech) he comes here once a week and I help him with his office hours ....I actually saw him as a patient today because he noticed that I was dragging myself around and asked if I was ok....I really don't advertise my condition at work because basically not many of them would know what this is or really care....so he suggested that I see his accupunturist and napropath that he has in his private office (they deal with alot of fibromyalgia patients) I guess my question is has anyone tried this route and did you have any success or relief...at this point I am willing to try anything but the thought of needles in my skin kind of freaks me out!!! Thanks in advance for your responses....noreen
  2. bewell4

bewell4 New Member

believe me, i get hives just thinking of needles... they really are not like needles, they are more like tiny hairs. very tiny. not hollow like the kind used to take blood!
    i ended up trying acupuncture for a swollen foot years ago that doc's couldn't figure out. it worked! like magic!
    acupuncture doesn't help everyone, (i've heard) but it helped me. sometimes i get a treatment and feel great afterwards, and sometimes not...so i would give it half a dozen tries to really see how you like it. also, you can ask them to be very gentle at first. mine started out really carefully cuz i guess they could see that i was freaked...it was great.