NE1 W/ Positive ANA?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by fight4acure, Aug 10, 2010.

1. fight4acure

fight4acure Member

I just received news that I have a positive ANA test and have to meet with a Rheumy to find out the results. I looked it up online and figured the results out with the help of the nurse & the test data.

NEway, I'm not a happy camper right now. I've been begging for inflammation blood tests for the past 2 years and my family doc kept thinking it was a waste of money, so I actually begged my ortho surgeon, that I'm seeing for the cartilage damage in my knee (also ignored by my family doc for over a year), to give me an inflammation test for my body/blood, because something is messed up when I get a big flare in my body the first 24 hours after a cortisone shot in my partially damaged knee, and then after the 24 hours my body felt better than it has in a long time, even better than it feels when I take antibiotics. So, I know my body has tons of inflammation. Sure enough I was right. Now to wait to get in to see a doc.

Please share your story or whatever...

Thanks,
    Fight4acure :)
  2. greatgran

greatgran Member

I have had a high positive ANA for years also a high elevated C-reactive protein. the CRP is really what measures inflammation.. I would say if you have a messed up knee that is why you have an elevated ANA.. I was tested for Lupus etc.. all normal.. some people have a elevated ANA and no reason.

I wouldn't worry, an elevated ANA is not that uncommon but get it checked out..

Good luck,
    gg
  3. fight4acure

fight4acure Member