Neck Injuries ?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by kathy0727, Sep 13, 2006.

1. kathy0727

kathy0727 Guest

I was curious if any other FM people had suffered a neck injury in the past. Seems like I had talked to a few people who have FM and they all had previous neck injuries. I don't know if "whiplash" counts, but I had torn tendons in my neck after I was raped years ago (holding me off the floor by my neck, then attempted strangulation). I'm sure the experience alone, along with all the BS that last for years, didn't help me much. Just curious about it. Seems to me it could be a contributor to FM.
  2. shelby319

shelby319 New Member

I'm so sorry to hear about your situation, as I'm sure that alone was very traumatic for you, and its not something you can overcome that easily.

I work in the field of psychology, and there are many things that can contribute to your situation, including physical problems of the neck, although I would assume that was from the rape itself. And it doesn't necessary mean Fibro, but it doesn't help bring it on either. I have the same problems with the neck but its a little different than yours, and need surgery on 4 of the disks next month. But also post traumatic stress is a big factor which you might also have, along with anxiety, depression or panic attacks. Stress plays a huge factor with Fibro while I'm finding out more and more, as I'm still new to all of it and was only diagnosed last year with it.

I know myself that alot of factors contributed to my Fibro, including an abusive upbringing, a severe car accident, post traumatic stress symdrome, stress from many other things in my life and anxiety and panic attacks. It can take years for it to show up, which was my case and one of the reasons I got into the profession in the first place, as to not have this happen to others like it did to me.