NEED HELP fixing my sleep pattern...BIG mess

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by janasw1, Mar 11, 2007.

1. janasw1

janasw1 New Member

I am on a COMPLETELY messed up sleep schedule, I get to sleep at the EARLIEST around 5:30 AM, and usually sleep until 3 or 4 PM!
    This isn't SO TERRIBLE considering I'm a college student with late classes and no job at the moment, but I know it's unhealthy to sleep this way and I definitely feel a lot worse...
    I'm sure plenty of you have had this type of problem before, so in your experience, ASIDE FROM SLEEPING PILLS because I'm VERY anti-medicine, how might I reverse this never-seeing-the-sun-anymore HELL?

Also, any idea WHY I can't sleep normally? I've heard of adrenal problems that cause this, is that true? Any other possible causes that you know of?

Thanks in advance!
    - Whitney
  2. i have fibromyalgia and ME/chronic fatigue syndrome.many years ago i was given amitripyline 50 mg tablets,and i take one of these at 7 pm.then around about 9pm i feel the affects of the pill,in that im starting to feel very tired,so ill go to bed at 9pm.

i then wake up at 5am each morning.this is always the same for me every day.but sometimes i have forgotten to take my tablet (not often)and i just cant sleep at all,no matter how i try.i was a bit sad about that,as i hate having to rely on pills to get me to sleep.

but as ive grown older,and this fibro has developed more,i now realise that my mind gets very hyperactive,and seeing as my muscles and tendons cant be hyper (due to stiffness)i have excepted that i need the amitripyline if i want to get some sleep.the tablet slows the body down,so im told.and maybe that is why i dont get those dibilitateing migraine headaches now.