Need help - high anxiety about taking the next step...

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by lisadot, Mar 27, 2012.

1. lisadot

lisadot New Member

Yesterday I saw my rheumy. I had decided after having increasing levels of pain, muscle weakness, and frustrating fatigue, I was going to ask him to be placed on disability. I've been out of work since October. Laid off the second time in less than a year time-span. I worked as a nurse in research, and I've been applying for jobs without any result. Sure, I've had interviews, but nothing had come of them. Most wanted mandatory overtime or rotating shifts - things I just cannot do at this point in my life - I've not been offered any positions. I'm 51, but some days I feel thirty years old. I hate it. I was productive. I was a survivor, and I'd spent my years pushing myself no matter what.

My husband had been without work as well, but recently was hired. So, I'm nervous about him getting through the 90 day period - despite his strong work ethic and commitment to his job - things are just not the same anymore in terms of employer loyalty to employees. Benefits for SSDI take so long to kick in. And yesterday WHILE LEAVING the rheumy's building I get a phone call - a request to come in for a second interview! I was totally caught off guard! I stall her, saying I'm driving for awhile, and I don't have access to my calendar. I'm thinking to myself !@$* why now?! Over 2 months ago I had that initial interview! I had given up on it. And today, RIGHT AFTER I leave the rheumy they call me?! It so figures!