Need ideas for stress management

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by sheep04, Apr 25, 2007.

1. sheep04

sheep04 New Member

Hi everyone!
    I'm new to the message board but not new to fm. Have been dealing with this for 5 years and still struggle a lot.
    I have two major events coming up within the next three months: one daughter's college graduation (out of town) and the other daughter's wedding.
    Does anyone have any suggestions for the best way to handle the stress so I don't end up with huge flare ups that put me in the bed? I really want to enjoy these occasions but there is so much to do and so much stress.
    Thanks for your help!
    Best wishes for good days to you all!
    Sheep 04
  2. jole

jole Member

Oh boy, I do not envy you!!!! At my daughter's wedding I had a panic attack so bad I wanted to sit under the table and cry..:) But that's just me.....

I think the best thing you can do is delegate, delegate, delegate. The less you have to do the better. Hopefully you can just show up and enjoy both events as much as possible. Do you have a wedding consultant or is that in the budget? If not, I would certainly turn it over to a friend that has "been there, done that". I didn't, and it certainly took its toll.

Best of luck to you. Hope you can enjoy both of these wonderful days with your daughters and have great memories to share for years to come.

Friends - Jole
  3. sheep04

sheep04 New Member

Jole,
    Thanks for the words of wisdom! I know I need to delegate and I definitely plan on doing that. Our budget/income did not allow for a wedding planner so we are taking care of things as best we can. There must be dozens of lists!
    However, we do have wonderful friends and family that will be an enormous help. I just have to let go and let them do things.
    I am looking forward to the occasions and I think if I can just deal with the stresses, I'll be okay.
    Thanks for the encouragement!
    Sheep04
  4. Lichu3