Need opinions on new job

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by darla405, Mar 21, 2006.

1. darla405

darla405 New Member

I have fibromyalgia, but it does not keep me from working. I have recently started a new job as a mail carrier substitute (I also work as a bookkeeper on the other days so I am working 6 days/week).

I haven't noticed any pain/stiffness/swelling with the mail carrier job until last week when I had to work 6 days in a row. By Thursday night, my hands were falling asleep at night and the next day, they were swollen and very achy and Sunday, they were hurting pretty bad. I'm assuming it's from handling the mail (I drive 108 miles and have 486 boxes) This is Tuesday, and I have some discomfort still.

I was planning on this mail carrier job to lead into something full-time because of the good pay/benefits. Now I'm beginning to wonder if I could handle it full-time. My husband says maybe it's just the fact that maybe I'm not used to it yet.

Any opinions are appreciated.

Thanks,
    Darla
  2. kaiasmom

kaiasmom New Member

Hello Darla,

Sorry to hear you are hurting so much. I know about the hand pain, swelling, numbness, etc, and it stinks!! Makes it very hard to do much of anything.

As far as doing the mail carrier thing full time, only you can know if your body can handle it. If it were me, I don't think I would be able to do it. I am lucky to have a desk job, and even that is very hard on my body. I can't imagine if I actually had to do anything physical for work!

Good luck!

Leanne
  3. LittleBluestem

LittleBluestem New Member

How long does it take you to complete your route? How long does it take to sort the mail in the morning?

The last time I was in the post office, I noticed that they were accepting applications for rural mail carriers. Since it would be mostly sitting in a car, I thought maybe it would be something I could do. It is certainly the best paying job I could get in this rural area where I am now living.