need some support

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by forestglen, Aug 6, 2003.

1. forestglen

forestglen New Member

hi... this is my first time logging on to an fm chat..i need some support from people who understand this illness....friends and family don't seem to really understand and at this point i don'nt expect them to... i am tired of the undercurrant when they do ask how i am.....i know they are rolling there eyes and exchange glances across the table etc....i'm just feeling so very discouraged this morning....if i had another illness i would'nt have to justify or prove my case... it's ridiculous and very isolating....any one else have similar experiences
  2. spmary

spmary New Member

Oh, yes..do I understand? I live in a small town where people don't understand anything they can't SEE. They understand heart attacks,cancer,because so many eople have those. I have a sister-in-law that says she never sympathises with anyone becaause it makes them worse! She is great at sending cards, and then promptly forgets to do anything else. If a friend dies, she never does anything else for the surviror. Thinks I am strange for doing anything like having them for dinner,etc. Even my family do not make any effort at helping, and still expect me to do everything as usual. I just ignore them and do what I can,and let the rest go. Fortunately, I have a sympathetic doctor. He doesn't know alot about this DD but says he is learning. I've had to learn to and thanks for this group I do ,and recieve alot of help and support.
    My husband has terrible arthritis. I try to help him all I can,but he doesn't seem to understand returning the favor. lol! So keep your chin up and do reserch and let these kind people on this site help you. I will pray for you...Love, Mary
  3. Mikie

Mikie Moderator