need to apply for SSD...Please Help! Dont know where to start

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by rose38716, Aug 1, 2003.

1. rose38716

rose38716 New Member

I dont know how much longer I'll be able to work ..Switched jobs a few weeks ago,I was a nurse aide in nursing home am now doing home health..It is much better for me but I have migraine headaches every morning plus the fibro pain..And the IBS seems to always kick in on my way to work..and i end up stopping to go to restroom about 3or 4 times a day..which always makes me late for work plus some days i just cannot get up out of bed..I have a lot of trouble getting to sleep but once I do I can sleep 15 hrs. or more..I have OA also..
    Do I do the application on the phone or is it best to go there?? Any suggestions or comments appreciated...Thanks Deb
  2. teach6

teach6 New Member

I heard that if you go in they may take note of how you look and for us that can be a bad thing, since these are invisible illnesses. So I called my local office and they mailed me the forms to fill out.

They will give you about two weeks to complete them and set up a phone interview with them at which time you basically go over what you wrote on the forms. Then they will send you MORE forms!!! It never ends it seems like, but it really does.

You do need to be not working when you apply, though. Good luck. There is a lot of info on this site. Just click on Disability at the top of the page.

Barbara
  3. COOKIEMONSTER

COOKIEMONSTER New Member

I'm sure that you have read my post on how I received SS on my first try. Could it have been luck? I will never know.

Anyhoot, this is the procedure that I used.

1st, I made a call to SS requesting information on how to apply for SS. They informed me that they would send me a package that needed completing requesting information such as your name, date of birth etc.,.