Neurontin / Klonopin = Lowered IQ (or just paranoid)

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by vinetti23, Jun 13, 2003.

1. vinetti23

vinetti23 New Member

I've been on Neurontin for 2-3 years...

2+ years ago I graduated magna cum laude at one of the top 10 undergrad schools in the country (i'm one of those young FMs).

Anyway...Literally since the first few weeks I was on that drug I noticed immediate changes in my emotional range (less moody but also less happy/elevated). Ultimately, I started noticing minor changes in my creativity and "wit" - My comebacks took a minute...not a second as they used to. I didn't feel as "funny" anymore. I was told the mood effects were normal - as this drug is used in bipolar patients & those w/ mood disorders. So, time marched on and my dosage slowly increased.

In the first year, I almost felt more intelligent bc I had less "noise" going on in my head & pain in my body. In this past year, I just feel slow. Maybe it's because I got a Tivo and am watching too much TV (ha - seriously)... but I am starting to worry. This drug works on GABA, and that slows down the synaptic functions of the brain. Ultimately, intelligence is related to speed that messages can get across the brain & how many different linkages you can sustain from one neuron to another. Having flooded my brain w/ this gaba increasing drug for 2+ years now, I'm worried that I've "slowed myself down" and can't perform intellectually like I used to. I know that there are drugs that CAN do this but they are usually much more intense drugs (i.e. haldol, marijuana, etc...)