Neuropathy due to Lymes

Discussion in 'Lyme Disease Archives' started by teak, Mar 23, 2010.

1. teak

teak New Member

I'm new to this sight but was so glad to find it! My husband who has suffered with Lymes for 35 years (he finally got a diagnosis in Nov. '09) has developed very painful neuropathy's in his legs and feet. Has anyone had sucess finding relief without narcotic pain relievers? He is currently taking the antibiotic regime since Nov. '09 and feeling more energetic and stronger but it hasn't helped the neuropathy any.

Thanks
  2. victoria

victoria New Member

It seems the longer one's had Lyme &/or co-infections, the longer it usually takes to see results.

My son had neuropathy in arms/hands and legs/feet at 17... he took 3.5 years of oral abx, and it did gradually disappear to a tolerable level as long as it's not exacerbated by repetitive activities.

Hope he starts to feel and see results with it sooner than later.

all the best,
    Victoria

3. teak

teak New Member

Thank you Victoria, that gives us some hope. Can I ask how long he had lymes before he started the abx?

Teak
  4. victoria

victoria New Member

We don't really know as we never saw a rash on him. He'd played in the woods all his life.

His first obvious symptoms (well-- obvious only when we look back) began when he was about 13 tho. Since it can remain dormant without anything more than a 'summer flu' type symptom, that's the best I can date it to as he started getting the 'flu' every 2-3 weeks and then started having neurpsych problems.

The physical symptoms didn't start til a couple of years after that but were quickly getting worse.

5. teak

teak New Member

Hi Victoria,

In your first reply you said your son's neuropathy pain was reduced to a tolerable level after the abx treatments. Does tolerable mean he was able to lead a pretty " normal" life...do the things he needed and wanted to do?