New and need prayers

Discussion in 'Spirituality/Worship' started by Adl123, Sep 4, 2003.

1. Adl123

Adl123 New Member

I am new to this section of the message boards, and I really need prayers for a situation I feel I must handle.,
    I have a friend of 30 years, who has become more and more negative and bitter about everything as time has gone on. I am trying to overcome verious illnesses and am struggling to stay positive. We enjoy shopping together, but it is getting so tht every time I make a comment, like "Is't it a nice day?", she responds with "Yes, but it won't stay that way". If I complement someonee famous, she will respond by saying,that, of course, they can do so nd so, they are rich. I expressed empathy for the children of Afganistan and Irac and she bittery said not to worry about them, because our government will take car of them- meaning that they will get medical care. When a neighbor's house burned down she said not to worry about them,they probably had insurance. And so it goes. My friend has suffered a lot, but she shows no compassion for others. I do not want to loose her friendship, but I need to say something. Being with her is a real downer, and it is that way all the time. How do I talk too her? I am older than she, and she always seems to think that everytng I say is a veiled criticism aimed at her. Or should I just let it drop and go on as usual? I could use some prayers for inspiration, as well as any thoughts on the subject.Thanks, Terry
  2. Hikagranma

Hikagranma New Member

I really do know what you are up against - and wish I had something wise to say to help. One time I read an article where Dr. Peale said to mentally 'SHOOT' prayers her way. Above all - try to keep your positive outlook. We will be praying - that the Lord leads you to just the correct words.
    WE are happy to welcome you - to this great Worship Board.

Hugs for you, Hikagranma
  3. ValleyGirl89

ValleyGirl89 New Member