New Drug to try......

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by uatraveler, Feb 1, 2006.

1. uatraveler

uatraveler New Member

I have been fighting this Fibro for over 10 years. In the last 2 1/2 years the pain has become unbearable. Our daughter (34) was in a bad car accident 9-9-03 which left her paralyzeed from her chest down (Quad) and we are full time caregiver for her and her 11 and 4 yr. old. Her two teenagers are with their other Grandparents. It is so true how stress is an absolute demon for this disease. How many different medications come along, we try, they work for a short time, then relapse. Dr. trys to put me on Morphine Patches, Oxycotin, Vicodin.. He tries so hard to give me a few pain free days, but I really don't need to take those drugs and try to raise grandkids, and see my Miracle daughter laugh - if I am medicated all the time! If the hubby is home to help, I will knock myself out with those drugs for a couple of days to get out of the pain and rejuventate myself.. I am in one of those cycles now, but to lift my spirits, my sister called from Texas last night to tell me of a new drug Mirapex (mainly used for Parkinson's) but great results for Fibro all symptoms even decreased pain, concentration, sleep, fatigue, depression, etc. I am so excited...My Dr is calling it in as I type. I was lucky to find this drug as the hubby works out of town and this caregiving job is full time - twice as hard if you have Fibro. I try not to let the pain show, but, my daughter knew about it before the wreck, she took care of me! So she obviously sees some days, I can't even lift my arms, and she hears me upstairs all night walking around the house. Anyhow, I will follow-up with you after I have tried it for a few weeks. There is an article about it on the newsletters we receive by e-mail, Take care and know that you are not alone, Deborah
    [This Message was Edited on 02/01/2006]
  2. WoodstocksMusic

WoodstocksMusic New Member