New here...just diagnosed with on overload

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by momof2gr8kids, Jun 8, 2008.

1. momof2gr8kids

momof2gr8kids New Member

I’m a 41 year old working mom of 2 young children, ages 3-1/2 and 6-1/2. I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia just 2 months ago. Like many of you, my road to diagnosis has been a long one, with many side-trips along the way. I have been treated for depression, ADHD (both of which I believe I do have, but are secondary to the Fibro).

I have always been a high achiever. I studied for, took and passed the CPA exam while I was on maternity leave with my youngest daughter. I was also recovering from a c-section at that time, and had to have my gallbladder removed 8 weeks after that. But it wasn’t long after that thing started going downhill rather quickly for me. At 18 months of age, my daughter was diagnosed with Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis. That is when the real stress in my life took hold. I suffered for post partum depression after the birth of my son, and even more so after the birth of my daughter. This time, however, I knew I needed to get myself help in order to be well enough to continue to help my daughter. I had been feeling bad but it was shortly after this that I went to a psychologist to seek help for depression. I felt like I was in a constant fog, not enjoying the things I used to enjoy, severe mood swings, anxiety, etc. Time went forward and my daughter’s symptoms just disappeared after several trials and errors, and a short stint of methotrexate injections that we finally agreed to administer to her after nothing else seemed to work. My husband and I made the decision to take her off all meds after her arthritic symptoms had vanished, but we had started to see issues with her bowel movements. We could never be sure if the bowel issues were from her meds and the docs were just blowing us off, so we just made the decision on our own. She was off all meds for a few months when we began to se