New here. Question about when to apply for disability.

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by starmom, Nov 5, 2005.

1. starmom

starmom New Member

Hi everyone. I am a newbie to this forum, but have had fibro since I was 13 or 14. Was diagnosed at 22 when I told the doc that I thought I had fibro. Previous diagnoses had been disproven.

I am one of the wierdos who reacts VERY strangely to meds, so it is a constant juggle. Pain meds make me stay awake, so sleep is even harder than usual sometimes. And I am allergic to the OTC stuff.

I am wondering how I know when/if to file for disability/SSI. The fibro is getting worse. I also had a disc fixed in my neck years ago and have trouble with it. I am home with my kids b/c I can't seem to be able to go to a job regularly. Lately I even do very little with my house.

I have a hard time cleaning, cooking, stitching, doing my hobbies, anything. I don't have a pain doc b/c all the ones in my state tell me I am not in enough pain to see them. ARRGGHH.

I am usually fairly calm, as much as can be with a 13yo with severe problems and 2 other kids with problems stemming from his behavior.

How do I decide to file for disability or not? Is it worth the hassle? My hubby makes a living, but it is very tight. Woudl be much better if I could work.

Susie
  2. suzetal

suzetal New Member

SS.Gov it will explain everything. You must have been off work or intended not to work for at least a full yr.

You will also need your doctors backing on this .Sometimes it can be a long hard road.Took me 2 yrs. And others get approved first shot.You have nothing to loose if you have all your ducks in a row.

If you do file don't give up.You also need enough work credits.

Good Luck
    Sue
  3. mbofov

mbofov Active Member

I filed for disability when it became almost impossible for me to work due to CFIDS. Working had become a nightmare for me due to lack of energy, lack of sleep, constant sore throats, etc.