New here too, and recently diagnosed

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by karen55, Oct 18, 2002.

1. karen55

karen55 New Member

Hi, I'm new here too. This is my first time on an FMS message board. I was just recently diagnosed and I've been looking around for support and info. For several years I've had almost constant pain in all of my joints and bones which has pretty much steadily gotten worse. It almost feels like my body has a toothache. Sometimes in any given area it will hit me so intensely it takes my breath away. My PC ran a lot of tests 2 years ago for lupus, RA, Epstein-Barre, ordered Xrays, bone scans, bone density tests. She told me I had "a little osteo-arthritis". Right after that is when I had back surgery for a ruptured disk - my 2nd one - and I've had PT a few times since then. My neurosurgeon refused to prescribe pain medication for me after 2 months and pretty much told me my pain was in my head, so I started seeing a DO. I've been seeing him ever since, and he just repeated the blood tests for RA and lupus and they were again negative. He also put me through nerve conduction tests and EMG and I have carpal tunnel syndrome too. I just saw my PC again and brought her up to speed on everything the DO is doing/saying and she pretty much rolled her eyes at the FMS diagnosis, ordered repeat bone scans/bone density tests.
    I've tried pretty much everything I can think of, or has been suggested to me; eliminating certain things from my diet, coral calcium (HUGE mistake, I am allergic to shellfish and this did not agree with me), heat, cold, exercising, meds. I've always been active, and the last 8-10 months the pain has prevented me from exercising on a regular basis, so now I'm going to try Pilates or Yoga, hopefully I'll find something that will help.