New to FM

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by rileyearl, Aug 16, 2005.

1. rileyearl

rileyearl New Member

Hi There,

I just wanted to tell you how comforting it has been to read through some of the posts here. I'm new to knowing I have FM, although I realize now that I've had it for years--maybe since I had mono when I was 15 (I'm 52.) All the good information and support here make me feel like I've found a good place to hang out.

I am new to severe pain and don't like it one bit. I hurt when I stand or sit. Most of the pain is in my rear end and legs, but one night I read a paperback book about FM for 45 minutes. Just holding it up in bed made my arms and shoulders feel like I'd been painting ceilings for a week. I had to laugh at that--it sounds so stupid. It's good to laugh. Anyway, I'm happy you're here as I muddle through what will work best for me.

It's 2AM. I used to be such a good sleeper. I tried taking melatonin and over the counter PM stuff and benedryl, but they all make me so dopey the next day that it's not worth an extra hour or two of sleep. I take naps during the day.

I quit my job over a year ago because I couldn't stand to give that much of myself away. Figured if I was going to work that hard, I could do it from home for myself. So, I started an internet retail business. It's a going concern, but requires many hours at the computer. I've been having a little trouble summoning up the energy to wrap all the packages and keep the "shelves" stocked. Maybe it will get better after the current flare subsides (piriformis muscle seems to be strangling my sciatic nerve.)

I look forward to my time here.

Francie
  2. 69mach1

69mach1 New Member

i'm new too about two weeks old that is.

you'll find this site so benficial.

i was curious do have periformis syndrome? i have that all i have ever been told is tdo my stretches.

does your hip area go numb? i get a lot of pain from it