New to FMS

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by mkay64, Jan 4, 2012.

1. mkay64

mkay64 New Member

I am new to this and was wondering if when you over do it like I did the other day house cleaning I have been so sore to the bone I cant move, I feel stiff, I hurt and all I want to do is sleep is this what FMS is. Thanks in advance.
  2. Nanie46

Nanie46 Moderator

You really need to find the cause of your symptoms.

You may think this does not apply to you, but please read this:

Many people here have later found they have this chronic bacterial infection.
  3. Picklington

Picklington New Member

Hello! Glad you've found us.

On the really awful days I use my TENS machine - they work by using electrical impulses to block pain sensors and provide a really good distraction while you use it. You can get them from chemists or online. Mine was from ebay.

Heat pads help a bit if I can't use the TENS machine. Or menthol muscle rubs are quite good for muscle tension.

Some foods naturally reduce pain, like poppy seeds and cherries.

I have made a lot of minor changes to my life and habits that reduce the effort required. Just little things, like having 2 laundry baskets so I don't have to separate my washing into light and dark, which is one less strain on my shoulders.

Where is your pain worst? I'll let you know how I reduce my pain in those areas
  4. mkay64

mkay64 New Member

Right now the my arms and lower legs. I never thought about my TENS I have them for my back I will try that.

I have been using the menthol rubs and they have been helping a little bit but it seems like that is all I do is put it on.

I will try poppy seeds and the cherries (not a cherry fan) but if it will help.

Thanks for all your help, keep it coming.
  5. mkay64

mkay64 New Member

I did test for this and it is not but thanks
  6. Nanie46

Nanie46 Moderator

I'm glad to hear you tested for Lyme, but did you know that Lyme testing is very unreliable?