New to the group

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by charlor, Apr 10, 2003.

1. charlor

charlor New Member

Cortef as treatment for Addison's 04/10/03 12:12 PM

Hi all,
    I am new to this, but this site is wonderful. I was just diagnosed with Addison's disease a week ago. ( I also have fibromyalgia and multiple back surgeries, chronic pain). I have been having symptoms of fainting, weakness, fatigue, irritable, can't handle any stress for 2 years. My doctor said it was all due to the fibromyalgia. Then about 2 months ago, I started passing out. My blood pressure was 70/30 and when I fell and knocked out my 4 front teeth, my doctor finally put me in the hospital for a few days and said the low blood pressure was due to my medications. So he decreased my medications and the symptoms continued. I went in last week again for low blood pressure, short of breath, feeling hot and cold. My regular neurologist was away so his partner was covering. (I finally had a doctor to take time and listen to my symptoms). He did a cortisol level and it was 0.4. I had the typical symptoms for Addisons disease for over 2 years and my doctor never ran the test for it. I was started on Cortef 20mg in the morning and 10mg in the evening. That was last Thursday. I was beginning to think I was going nuts. I cannot handle any kind of stress, I am depressed, tired all of the time. I have not had any kind of life for over 2 years. I am so glad to find this website to talk with others that are feeling the same way. I was wondering if any one is on Cortef and if they are feeling any better with it and if so, how long before you noticed a difference. Thanks so much for taking the time to listen. I anxiously await a reply.
    Charlene
  2. DebP

DebP New Member