new to this site

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by roomrat, Jan 16, 2003.

1. roomrat

roomrat New Member

Hello. I've had fibromyalgia for about 7 years. I"m on medication that lets me go about life fairly normally, although I've also learned that 'pain-free' isn't going to happen! I've also got diabetes (more likely to have low blood sugar now), a history of eating disorders, and autonomic dysfunction/dysautonomia. I'm a nurse, and work full time-just started a new job. I also just moved 1300 miles (drove the u-haul,and unloaded it when I got there). When I was unloading the truck (dad helped), my left arm seemed to get more out of whack than the rest of me... it's been sore for about 6 weeks, especially when I extend my arm. It's not the worst pain I've ever felt by a long shot, but is getting rather annoying!!! I can't really go see anyone about it until my insurance kicks in (another 7 weeks)- anybody got any words of wisdom??? For the most part, I'm not a fibro 'victim' (meaning I don't choose to let it effect me going on with life- for the most part anyway!), but sometimes ya just need some hints from folks who have been there! Thanks
  2. catgal

catgal New Member

Hello Roomrat~~So glad you found us and write a post. There are alot of compassionate, knowledgeable people on this Board, and I'm sure more will be along to offer suggestions. We also have several nurses and other professionals on board.

I don't know how you managed to do all the moving, driving, and unpacking. That would wear anyone out, plus the stress of relocating to a new area and taking on a new job.

You may have just strained your arm or perhaps a little arthritis has kicked in. Is there much change in environmental climate from where you've moved from and to?