New with concerns about sensitivity to dental treatment!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Gracie65, Jun 21, 2003.

1. Gracie65

Gracie65 New Member

Hi,
    I am new to this great board but not to CFS. I was diagnosed 7 years ago at 43 by a neurologist. However I am sure the symptoms were the same for about 5 years before that. But no doctor had an answer for my symptoms.

I have noticed in the last 3 years especially a high sensitivity to medications both prescription and otc. I end up having to take childrens doses of antihistamines and even with that I will sleep for hours. Pain meds have to be a very, very low dose. Meds in the past that have not bothered me now do.

I am scheduled to have a dental extraction next week. The last time I had a reaction to the novacaine. It made me sweat and my heart was racing, like a panic attack. Because I am not good at the dentist anyway I was thinking of having i.v. sedation but wondering if I will be even more sensitive to that than the novacaine and nitrous oxide gas which I had before. I can of course discuss this with the dental surgeon but was wondering if any here have had issues with dental procedures and what alternatives for numbing and sedation were used?
    This is an wonderful site and since getting my new pc and thrilled to find so many to share the problems of living with this disease...thanks...Gracie65
  2. Gracie65

Gracie65 New Member

Hi Monicat,
    I didn't know there was epinephrine in novacaine. Is there a substitute that works as good and do you know the name of it?
    Thank you so much..Gracie65
  3. Member

Member New Member