Newbie can I consider myself DX'd?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by marsupialmama, Aug 22, 2006.

1. marsupialmama

marsupialmama New Member

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here. Married mom, 3 kids, early 40s, sedentary life and a whole lotta PAIN. Been in pain for y-e-a-r-s and basically get the "male cow excrement" attitude from the MDs. I am soooo tired of being in pain. Back, hips, feet and now knees. And elbows and hands seem to be going too. They foudn arthritis in lower back and sacro-iliac joint and prescribed pain killers that, um,don;t really kill the pain. Any new pain they just tell me to take Tylenol #3's which bring other side effects...

I need to lose weight but am too much pain to exercise, but if I go to the docs they just see a big mama and can't get any further than telling me to lose weight. Vicious circle.

Anyhoo, I decided to try a naturopath and she said she thinks I have FM, which I why I came on the web and googled my way over to this site...

So can I consider myself DX'd?? Or should I follow up with a "regular" doc? It would be a kind of relief to have an Official name for my problem(S) instead of just being this whiny wimpy person who can hardly do anything most of the time. :(

Thanks for listening.
  2. azbubba

azbubba New Member

You might want to get a referral to go to a rheumatologist...my experience is that they're the best ones to tell if you have FM or not.

And a high-five from Bubba for understanding what the cycle is with exercise/pain/fatigue...

Bubba
  3. lenasvn

lenasvn New Member

Naturopaths don't have the legalities to officially diagnose, but now you got something to go on. I agree that the next step is to get a referral to a Rheumy. Can you have this naturopath write a document saying something like "XX present with symptoms typical for FM. A definite diagnosis is appropriate and would help XX".

Good luck!

4. marsupialmama

marsupialmama New Member