Newbie here with lots of questions

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by lisadot, Sep 29, 2005.

1. lisadot

lisadot New Member

Hi everyone. I was finally diagnosed this summer. I'm a (clinical research) nurse, and pretty much figured out I have Fibro on my own. I saw a rheumatologist three times, and I won't go back to him. I think he's on some kind of a fishing expedition, and I don't like it. I have little respect for him at this point.

He has done over $3500.00 worth of blood tests (all the autoimmune stuff, interleukin and tumor necrosis factor, routine labs as well), and that may not be the whole total. Thank goodness insurance covers a good portion! He insisted on doing his own series of xrays as well, but I don't know why he ran some of them. I understand the TB test (negative) and chest xray, but I don't get the spinal series completely. He hates that I want my test results before I see him in between appts. Sorry, but as a nurse, my mind can work overtime, and I won't wait 3 to 6 wks to get answers. On the last visit he walked away from me, and put the books I'd brought with me behind him. Was a pretty strong signal he has zero interest in my questions or concerns. His staff refuses to give me copies of my results without his permission, and I know that's not legal.

I see my gastro doc in the morning, as I had a major flareup of what I think is gastritis yesterday. I'm thinking maybe eating cucumbers did me in? Anyhow, I do have IBS, no doubt like so many others. And I have migraines, more than I would like. I'm feeling as if I'm a hypocondriac at the moment, but I know what I'm feeling inside my body.