Newbie Here!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by pwill, Oct 8, 2005.

1. pwill

pwill New Member

Hello! I am new to fibro and this board. I was wondering if it is common to have knee pain when standing up from sitting or laying down. Lately when I get up from being down for a while I am like an old lady. Then after a couple of minutes the stiffness and pain gets better enough that I can walk normally. Occassionally the same thing happens with my elbows. Does this sound like fibro?? Any help you have to offer would be great! Thanks in advance!!
  2. pwill

pwill New Member

Thank you so much! I don't want to be a bother with my questions but it is so nice to actually talk to someone with this disease. I have a dull achey pain in my hips as well - I'm assuming that is fibro also?? At my final dx appointment I was positive for fibro in 17 of the trigger points. My doc says it is pretty active right now. I am supposed to start walking but with the pain in my knees and hips I don't know how to get going. Can't figure out how that will make me feel better!? So, which helps more heat or ice for quick pain relief? How many of you take pain meds? What other meds do you take? What OTC meds do you take? Sorry to have so many questions but...I do!!
  3. brit_17759

brit_17759 New Member

and welcome to the board. Yes I have stiff and painful knees and elbows too, its just all part of this DD.

Hugs
    brit
  4. ilovecats94

ilovecats94 New Member

I also have FMS, yet because of the meds I am on, I'm usually not stiff. I get flares in my shoulders, upper back, neck off and on.

Just wanted to say hello to you and welcome you.

Yeah, it is common to have pain just about anywhere. I have actually just had one toe or one finger in one joint have pain. Wasn't stiff just hurt...

Heat helps and some people find ice helps.

Hugs,
    Faye
  5. lisadot

lisadot New Member