Newbie herethoughts

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by selasela, Mar 14, 2006.

1. selasela

selasela New Member

I'm 41. When I was 37, I mysteriously went throught menopause--bam! The periods stopped. By the end of the year, I was dealing with chronic pain--legs, hips, hands, shoulders, arms, etc. I was miserable. Went to doc and had blood work. My ANA was off the charts. Positive is 1: 60, and mine was 1: 1280. This is a potential sign for lupus. So--I spent years exploring all of this. Of course in the meantime, I was still diagnosed with fibromyalgia. I've had the bloodwork redone several times--ana still positive several times, as was the westergren sed rate test and the rhematoid factor. Docs still say not lupus--which is good, but definitely fibromyalgia. I've been on requip, mirapex, lexapro, and none of these did anything, so I stopped them. I was put on cymbalta--a "miracle drug" and my response was so-so, so I came off of it too. My withdrawal was VILE!! I will never take this drug again!! I was dog sick--gagging, vomiting, etc. Now family doc has prescribed Lyrica. I'm not even sure I'll get it filled. For one thing, I am horrified of the weight gain. How bad is it? I too am very skeptical of new drugs. I would love to hear your experiences. (For the record, I also took a low dose of prednisone--no response. ANd I took some ultrex--ultram; be cautious with this drug, friends, as it is tylenol--an extremely toxic drug to the liver if you take it over and over.) About the only thing that gives me a little relief is my one nightly glass of red wine. Problem is, I work full time--and well, you can't dring at work--ha! ha! I hope you are laughing! In short--I hurt, and i'm sick of this. Please share thoughts.
  2. pemaw54

pemaw54 New Member