Newbie/Kids or No kids dilemma

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by kalli11, Oct 20, 2014.

1. kalli11

kalli11 Member

Hi! Newbie here. I've had fibro for 2 years (diagnosed) and I also have myofascial and chronic fatigue. I am on no medication due to an enzyme I have that interacts with SSRIs, muscle relaxants and benzos (after having serotonin syndrome). I am 28 and happily married for 7 years.
    We have no children but we are licensed adoptive parents and lately I've been worried about being a parent with fibro. Since most people have their own kids it's different but we're looking at introducing a child (aged 5-12) in our home in the future (hopefully) and I don't know if I can handle it mentally/emotionally/physically. We are both good with children and I know we would be great parents but Honestly, I don't know if I can handle the responsibility of being a full-time parent and I feel horrible for that, because my husband would like to have kids and I told him going into the marriage that if he wanted his own kids to find another woman, I love him enough to let him; but he stood by me knowing we had the option to adopt
    . I've accepted my fibro to a point. I've learned to listen to my body, I've gotten back in shape (somewhat) by training back in Taekwondo (did it before Fibro, still have set-backs), but trust me I'm not even close to 50%. I have no energy hardly. I am not reliable, nor can be relied upon (which SUCKS).